Youth Brigade DC-"Complete First Demo"-7"

Image of Youth Brigade DC-"Complete First Demo"-7"


*** OVERSEAS & CANADA because of new 2016 postal rates, please email your list for a postage quote & paypal invoice. Contact at: ***

When The Teen Idles and The Untouchables split up in 1980, singer Nathan Strejcek and drummer Danny Ingram – two of the first punk kids at Wilson High – formed a new band, Youth Brigade. The duo played with a few different bass and guitar players before settling on Bert Queiroz (also of The Untouchables) and Tom Clinton to complete the lineup.

The band played its first show in Washington, D.C. in March of 1981 at a restaurant called Food for Thought. Just ten days later, Youth Brigade had its second gig, joining Minor Threat at the 9:30 Club as the openers for Black Flag’s first show in D.C.

Youth Brigade was active for a little less than a year and released only 11 songs. Eight came out on the 1981’s Possible EP – the title a tongue-in-cheek reference to one of the first Dischord ads, where, in a list of future releases, the label mentioned a "Possible EP" by Youth Brigade. The rest were released as part of Dischord’s Flex Your Head compilation.

Complete First Demo collects eight songs that Youth Brigade recorded with Don Zientara and Skip Groff in the summer of 1981 during its first recording session. “I Object” appeared on the 20 Years of Dischord box set and “Last Word” was included on Flex Your Head. All other material is previously unreleased.

This edition of the single has been pressed on orange vinyl.

1. I Object
2. Full Speed Ahead
3. Last Word
4. Moral Majority
5. Bouncer
6. Waste of Time
7. Snow Job
8. Youth Brigade